Clip on Bow-tie

Ever since I saw this in Craft, I have been looking for an excuse to make one of these.  Luckily, the perfect opportunity came when a friend of a friend got promoted at his job, and wanted to “classy up the place”.

Note that the original pattern is for a “real” bow-tie. I modified this pattern and made a clip on bow-tie instead because I wanted to focus on usability, not authenticity for this project. (For the interested, here are the 16 simple steps to tying a real bow-tie).

I followed the pattern to make the bow, and then took some elastic cord and covered it with a simple chain.  I then up-cycled a clip from a conference name badges and used this to clip the ends together.

Unfortunately, I never got a photo of the friend of a friend wearing the tie, and lost the pictures I took of a friend wearing it before I shipped it.

Crocheted clip on bow-tie

About amyhurst

Assistant Professor at University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) in Human-Centered Computing and Assistive Technology
This entry was posted in crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clip on Bow-tie

  1. Lisa says:

    adorable!

Leave a Reply

